Saviour Machine was one of the most significant realities appeared in the metal scene of the ’90s thanks to an epic and impacting sounds led by the unmistakable voice of Eric Clayton. The popularity obtained by the band was significant but not proportional to the value of the music proposed, probably due to the superficial inclusion of Saviour Machine in the cauldron of Christian-inspired metal; in fact, the Clayton brothers exhibited a spirituality that made them something quite different and much deeper than bands like Stryper and the like. After a long battle with an esophageal disease that seriously risked ending his career, Eric came back to the forefront a few years ago thanks to Arjen Lucassen’s call to play a part in the series of theatrical performances called Ayreon – The Theater Equation, then bringing David Bowie’s music live together with his brother Jeff and, finally, creating a new band called Eric Clayton And The Nine, to propose again to the public the immortal music of Saviour Machine. Eric’s vocal extension after the disease is no longer the same, but this does not prevent him from continuing to run shivers down the spine to those who have the good fortune to listen to him, as it happens in his first solo work A Thousand Scars, released in 2020 and containing 15 songs of amazing quality, which have nothing metal but are blessed by a voice always wonderful that our puts at the service of songs properly built on his current vocal range. A Thousand Scars doesn’t touch religious themes but it’s an intimate and introspective journey, with which Eric finally takes off that mask of wax that he used to exhibit in Saviour Machine’s concerts to lay himself bare and show those thousand scars that no medicine or plastic surgery will prevent from continuing to bleed. The work takes on mostly songwriter tones that one of the best and most credible interpreters of our days makes an inescapable masterpiece for those who can still be moved by music, something that is impossible to escape listening to songs from the evocative power of The Space Between Us, Where It Starts and Chasing Monsters, just to name the peaks of an unassailable tracklist.

2020 – RVP Records